Quantcast Corporate Press Releases, HarperCollins Publishers
Corporate Press Releases
Pinit    

All press releases and other information listed below were, to the best of HarperCollins Publishers’ knowledge, timely and accurate when issued. However, the passage of time can render information stale, and you should not rely on the continued accuracy of any such material beyond the date of issuance. HarperCollins Publishers has no responsibility to update any information contained in any such material. All viewers should carefully check the dates of issuance of the material contained in the HarperCollins Web site.
2001      2002      2003      2004      2005      2006      2007      2008      2009      2010      2011      2012      2013      2014      

Note: Use the Find tool in your software browser to search this document for keywords (the Find tool is found under "Edit" on the toolbar, or accessed by pressing "CTRL + F").

Date: 10/21/2004
Author: Amy Burton
Subject: Lemony Snicket's The Grim Grotto Surpasses 1.1 Million Copies Sold;

Lemony Snicket's The Grim Grotto Surpasses 1.1 Million Copies Sold;
-Snicket Allegedly 'Inconsolable' -

NEW YORK, Oct. 21

HarperCollins Children's Books announced today that in its first month on sale, A Series of Unfortunate Events Book the Eleventh: The Grim Grotto (on sale: Sept. 21, 2004) has sold 1.1 million copies in the U.S. Furthermore, the book has topped the bestsellers lists of the New York Times, USA Today and Wall Street Journal, in some cases besting Dr. Phil, Jon Stewart and even Stephen King. Snicket is purportedly "inconsolable" and "hiding in a corner."
"To see The Grim Grotto top bestsellers lists in publications like The Wall Street Journal, USA Today and The Boston Globe, where adult and children's books are ranked against one another, is a sign that readers of all ages are embracing Lemony Snicket," said Susan Katz, HarperCollins Children's Books president and publisher. "We have a goal of reaching more adult readers for these titles, and the recent numbers tell us that we're definitely making strides toward that goal."
The Series of Unfortunate Events books are no strangers to bestseller lists around the globe. Since 1999, the books have spent more than a combined 600 weeks on the New York Times Best Sellers List and have sold more than 25 million copies worldwide. The books have also been translated into 32 languages. Literary and irreverent, hilarious and deftly crafted, A Series of Unfortunate Events offers an exquisitely dark comedy in the tradition of Edward Gorey and Roald Dahl. Lemony Snicket's 13 uproariously unhappy books continue to win readers everywhere, despite his continued warnings.
The Grim Grotto begins where the last book, The Slippery Slope, left off, with the likeable, but doomed, Baudelaire siblings adrift in a sea of awfulness. This newest Snicket installment includes such alarming details as a submarine, a determined villain with a stylish girlfriend, mushrooms, an alarming message from a lost friend and three questionable balloons. This distressing chronicle is likely the worst yet in what has become a deeply disturbing worldwide phenomenon.
Bringing further misery into the lives of the public are DreamWorks, Paramount and Nickelodeon, who are scheduled to release "Lemony Snicket's A Series of Unfortunate Events" starring Jim Carrey, Jude Law and Meryl Streep on December 17, 2004. The movie is based on the first three books in the series, including The Bad Beginning, The Reptile Room and The Wide Window.

HarperCollins Children's Books is one of the leading publishers of children's books. Respected worldwide for its tradition of publishing quality, award-winning books for young readers, HarperCollins is home to many children's classics -- Charlotte's Web, The Chronicles of Narnia, Goodnight Moon, Where the Sidewalk Ends and Where the Wild Things Are; popular series -- A Series of Unfortunate Events and The Princess Diaries. HarperCollins Children's Books is a division of HarperCollins Publishers, one of the leading English language publishers in the world and a subsidiary of News Corporation (NYSE: NWS, NWS.A; ASX: NCP, NCPDP). Headquartered in New York, HarperCollins has publishing groups in the U.S., Canada, the U.K. and Australasia. You can visit HarperCollins Children's Books on the Internet at http://www.harperchildrens.com.

SOURCE HarperCollins Children's Books

CONTACT: Steven Wilson of B|W|R Public Relations, +1-310-550-7776, swilson@bwr-la.com; or Amy Burton, Publicity Director of HarperCollins Children's Books, +1-212-261- 6796, amy.burton@harpercollins.com
20140204